
My high school love and I never worked out. Well, only for me, right now he’s still on the verge of waiting if ever I would want to reconcile back at him. But I can’t see the point of getting back together and primarily I was damaged from my past relationship so having another is definitely out of my mind right now.
Whenever we talk it would be always about him, that he prefers coffee over shopping, what his habits, his taste in music, how busy he was back at school, How he was in a rush to finish his design (he’s an ECE Engineering student), How close he was to tears because he’s not finished yet! Blah blah blah. I have heard enough of this. Even in the courting stage he would nag me about all these? I am not the perfect girlfriend-to-be for him but at least anyone would think that what he was doing was strange, right? He doesn’t even look like he’s courting me. And then a certain “hunch” came along, I began to see that what I left in high school was still this same man. He never grew in such way that I can say that he’s good enough to be given another chance for, and that being single was still a good idea.
I admit, at first I was close enough to giving him another shot. I even let him take me out to dinner and movies once. And then it happened.
There were NO sparks. None. At. All. He treated me as a princess as he always do back in our times but I wasn’t able to see anything special about it. I was even bored that I was close to making him skip our dinner so we can finally go home, I should have been playing Sims and eating popcorn now, Wayyyy better than this. But I managed being nice to him throughout the night so we ate. He was even generous enough to give me a teddy bear. Yes. That was so High School. Our way home was awkward, but we were able to talk about important things like where the hell the camera button in his phone was. I told you, awkward. Good thing the traffic participated and became so good to me. In no time we were on our street already. Giving him a kiss on the cheek was the least I can do so I looked that I enjoyed the night. I tossed the teddy bear in my bed, landing on the floor. I stared at it, reading “Listen to my heart, It says I LOVE YOU!” printed in it’s shirt. Am I so rude?
And then my phone rang, Not even seeing who the call was from, I knew exactly who’s on the other line. If it wasn't Globe Services miraculously calling, who else could it be. The person on the other line was so excited! He would like to know If ever I was home safe, If I ate already, If I already saw the bear he gave. At the back of my mind I would like to shout back at him, “Hello? You sent me home of course I was safe enough, And yeah, I already saw it’s silly shirt.” But I gave my best to sound as excited as his voice so I complimented the bear, how cute it was and I thanked him for the night. Finally there were no more excitement that he could share so we hanged up, I told him I was sleepy but honestly I was running to my room so that I could finally play Sims.